COBIT 5 Differences

Course Description

First published in 1996, CobiT standards were updated in 2007 under the name CobiT 4.1, which is still used by numerous companies and organizations. We are expecting ISACA CobiT 5 by end Q1 2012.

Draft COBIT 5 was published by ISACA for comments and consideration. This draft version is believed to be similar to the final version expected to be issued by the end of the first quarter of 2012.

COBIT 5 Differences training focuses on some key changes between CobiT 4.1 and COBIT 5, and provides an introduction to the content of three booklets designed for COBIT 5: The Framework, Process Reference Guide, and Implementing & Continually Improving Enterprise Governance of IT.

Who Should Attend

IT managers and IT directors (CIO), IT service managers, Security Managers (CSO), internal audit managers (CIA), IT management/governance consultants


Understanding the differences between CobiT 4.1 and COBIT 5, COBIT 5 goals and rules, and COBIT 5 framework.

Training Outline

  • Introduction to COBIT5
    • History
  • COBIT5 Improvement Elements, Benefits and Key Characteristics
  • COBIT Principles
    • COBIT5 Integration Framework
      • COBIT5 Architecture
    • Benefit and Business Focus
      • COBIT5 Objectives
    • COBIT5 Deliverables for Governance and Management
      • COBIT5 Models
        • Information Model
        • Organizational Structure Model
        • Skills and Competencies Model
        • Principles and Policies Model
        • Culture, Ethics and Behavior Model
        • Service Capabilities Model
  • Governance and Management Structure
    • COBIT5 Process Reference Model
  • Implementation Guide
  • New COBIT5 Process Maturity/Competence Model
  • A Comparison of COBIT5 Information Model and COBIT4.1 Information Criteria
  • A Comparison of COBIT5 and ITGI5 Governance Focus Areas
  • Relations between COBIT5 and other standards and frameworks

Training Duration

1 day